Artist Highlight, Music, Pop Rock Folk

Lykke Li

Artist Highlight

Lykke Li Zachrisson is a singer-songwriter from Sweden. Her signature indie retro-styled pop is the product of her longtime collaboration with Björn Yttling of with Peter Björn and John. Lykke Li first hooked me with the head bopping,”I’m Good, I’m Gone,” which was a free music video off of the 2008 album, Youth Novels. Her work as gotten increasingly despondent with each album. This new album’s cover artwork even shows our wounded chanteuse photographed in a mourning veil. Forgive Lykke Li. She was recently run over by a heartbreak bus.  These sad songs are beautiful even if they are a little much when listened to one after another. Music critics laud her more mature direction, but I secretly miss the hand claps and snappy rhythms. Here’s hoping Lykke Li falls in love again before writing her next album.

~

~

Discography

 

I Never Learn (2014)

  • Fav Tracks: No Rest For The Wicked, Gunshot, I Never Learn
  • Recommended Tracks: I Never Learn, No Rest For The Wicked, Just Like A Dream, Gunshot, Love Me Like I’m Not Made Of Stone, Never Gonna Love Again

Wounded Rhymes (2011)

  • Fav Tracks: Youth Knows No Pain, Rich Kids Blues
  • Recommended Tracks: Youth Knows No Pain, Rich Kids Blues, I Follow Rivers, I Know Places, Jerome, Silent My Song

Youth Novels (2008)

  • Fav Tracks: I’m Good I’m Gone, Dance Dance Dance, Little Bit
  • Recommended Tracks: I’m Good I’m Gone, Dance Dance Dance, Little Bit, Let It Fall, My Love, Hanging High, Breaking It Up

I Never Learn Wounded Rhymes Youth Novels

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Choose by Category

